Tuesday, March 12, 2013

All-WCHA Blogger/Website Awards: My Votes

It's a bit crazy to think that it is yet again time to discuss and debate the various conference award selections. The results of the Second Annual Blogger/Website All-WCHA Poll will be released later this week, but in the meantime here is the way I voted:

All-WCHA First Team:
F - Ryan Walters, UNO
F - Corban Knight, UND
F - Erik Haula, UM
D - Nate Schmidt, UM
D - Nick Jensen, SCSU
G - Stephon Williams, MSU

All-WCHA Second Team:
F - Danny Kristo, UND
F - Drew LeBlanc, SCSU
F - Matt Leitner, MSU
D - Andrew Prochno, SCSU
D - Mike Boivin, CC
G - Adam Wilcox, UM

All-WCHA Third Team:
F - Rylan Schwartz, CC
F - Nick Bjugstad, UM
F - Michael Mersch, UW
D - Andrej Sustr, UNO
D - Nolan Zajac, DU
G - Joel Rumpel, UW

WCHA All-Rookie Team:
F - Austin Farley, UMD
F - Rocco Grimaldi, UND
F - Jonny Brodzinski, SCSU
D - Nolan Zajac, DU
D - Ethan Prow, SCSU
G - Stephon Williams, MSU

WCHA Player of the Year - Corban Knight, UND

WCHA Defensive Player of the Year - Nate Schmidt, UM

WCHA Rookie of the Year - Stephon Williams, MSU

WCHA Coach of the Year - Mike Hastings, MSU


  1. I would put Cameranisi over all 3 of your all-Rookie F's. Especially effort and hustle. Kosilla could also be in that list.

    Schmidt isn't a very good D and why he is on the lower pairing. He is very good offensively and why he is on the PP.

    Leblanc over Haula or Knight.

    Walters should be Player of the Year.

    1. 1) There are six freshman forwards who I would consider to be virtually interchangeable as first team all-rookie forwards: the three I picked, as well as Petan, Cameranesi, and Kosilla. Very little separation among those six, so it comes to personal preference.

      2) Schmidt has made significant strides in his defensive play. When you combine that with his outstanding shot/offensive abilities, there is no doubt that he warrants first-team recognition.

      3) In addition to my three All-WCHA 1st Team forwards, I thought LeBlanc and Kristo had 1st-Teamesque seasons. Again, it came down to personal preference in who to select among those five.

      4) While I certainly will not argue against Walters as POY, I will argue that Knight is equally as deserving.

  2. Drunk hockey guy stop giving the voters a tough time.