Friday, March 9, 2012

2011-12 Blogger All-WCHA Awards

Below are the results of the First Annual Blogger All-WCHA Awards. A big thank you goes out to the 16 participants who took the time to complete a ballot, and congratulations to all the teams, players, coaches, and staffs on yet another exciting regular season of WCHA hockey. As a note, there was a tie between Joey LaLeggia and Ben Blood for the second spot on 1st Team defense. Per WCHA methodology, they are both considered 1st Team while Nate Schmidt is the lone 2nd Team defenseman. An asterisk denotes a unanimous selection:

All-WCHA First Team
F – Jack Connolly, Minnesota-Duluth*
F – JT Brown, Minnesota-Duluth
F – Brock Nelson, North Dakota
D – Justin Schultz, Wisconsin*
D – Joey LaLeggia, Denver
D – Ben Blood, North Dakota
G – Kent Patterson, Minnesota

All-WCHA Second Team
F – Jason Zucker, Denver
F – Drew Shore, Denver
F – Nick Bjugstad, Minnesota
D – Nate Schmidt, Minnesota
G – Josh Thorimbert, Colorado College

All-WCHA Third Team
F – Jaden Schwartz, Colorado College
F – Mark Zengerle, Wisconsin
F – Travis Oleksuk, Minnesota-Duluth
D – Nick Jensen, St. Cloud State
D – Brady Lamb, Minnesota-Duluth
G – Kenny Reiter, Minnesota-Duluth

All-WCHA Rookie Team
F – Kyle Rau, Minnesota*
F – Caleb Herbert, Minnesota-Duluth
F – Jean-Paul LaFontaine, Minnesota State University-Mankato
D – Joey LaLeggia, Denver*
D – Andrew Prochno, St. Cloud State
G – Juho Olkinuora, Denver

WCHA Player of the Year Jack Connolly, Minnesota-Duluth

WCHA Defensive Player of the Year – Justin Schultz, Wisconsin

WCHA Rookie of the Year – Joey LaLeggia, Denver

WCHA Coach of the Year – Mel Pearson, Michigan Tech

Here's the rundown of the voters. Thanks again for taking part:
Timothy Boger, USCHO (North Dakota)
Donna, Runnin' With the Dogs (Minnesota-Duluth)
Summerzzzoff, CC Tiger Hockey (Colorado College)
Dirty, Dirty's Diatribe (North Dakota)
Nate, Gopher Puck Live (Minnesota)
Eric, Goon's World/Inside Hockey (North Dakota)
Joe, Paisley Hockey (Colorado College)
Chuck, Bucky's 5th Quarter (Wisconsin)
Matt, USCHO/Radio Free Omaha
Tim, Tech Hockey Guide (Michigan Tech)
Jon/Bridget, (Nebraska-Omaha)
Hammy, @hammyhockey (Minnesota)
Nate, SB Nation Minnesota/First Round Bust (Minnesota)
Andrew, College Hockey High Horse (Minnesota-Duluth)
Ryan, Gopher Puck Live (Minnesota)
Chad, A Tradition of Excellence (North Dakota)

No comments:

Post a Comment